## MINUTES OF BABYLON SCHOOL BOARD SPECIAL MEETING

DATE OF MEETING:

May 17, 2011

PLACE:

Babylon Memorial Grade School, 169 Park Avenue, Babylon, NY

Members Present

Mr. Henry Brunjes, President

Mrs. Judy Anderson Mr. Dominic Bencivenga Mrs. Lisa McKeown Mr. Roger A. Katz Mr. Thomas Melito

<u>District Superintendent</u> Dr. Ellen Best-Laimit

Central Office Administration

Dr. Peter Daly, Deputy Superintendent

Mr. Daniel D'Amico, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction

District Clerk Linda Pesce

## **CALL TO ORDER**

The meeting was called to order at 8:10 p.m. whereupon President Henry Brunjes led the assemblage in the Pledge of Allegiance.

# EXECUTIVE SESSION

At this time a motion to move into Executive Session for the purpose of negotiations with the Administrators' Association was made by Mrs. Anderson, seconded by Mrs. McKeown and approved. (6-0) Mr. Brunjes left at approximately 9:00 p.m.

## PUBLIC SESSION

Public session resumed at 9:05 p.m. for the purpose certifying the canvass of votes of the Annual School District Meeting. Linda Pesce, District Clerk, called for nominations for a board member to act as temporary chairperson in the absence of the Board President. Mr. Melito nominated Mrs. Anderson, Mr. Bencivenga seconded. There being no other nominations the following resolution was presented: Resolved, that the Board of Education hereby appoints Mrs. Anderson to act as a temporary chairperson for the remainder of the May 17, 2011 special meeting. On motion by Mr. Melito, seconded by Mr. Bencivenga and approved Mrs. Anderson was appointed as temporary chairperson. (5-0)

# **New Business**

# RATIFICATION OF VOTING RESULTS ON PROPOSITIONS

. **PROPOSTION 1 - SCHOOL BUDGET: RESOLVED,** that the results of the school district election held on May 17, 2011 for Proposition 1, School Budget for 2011-2012, which reads, "Shall the following resolution be adopted, to wit: Resolved, that the budget of Babylon Union Free School District for the fiscal year 2011-2012 as proposed by the Board of Education in accordance with section 1716 of the Education Law of the State of New York and as amended, shall be approved and a tax levied therefore upon the taxable property of said school district." Is declared adopted by a vote count of 1505. Yes: 981 No 524

On motion by Mr. Bencivenga, seconded by Mr. Katz, Resolution 1 was approved. (5-0)

2. **ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION: RESOLVED**, that the results of the school district election held on May 17, 2011, for members of the Board of Education listed below in the positions in which their names appeared on the ballot, resulted in their receiving the certified number of votes in the balloting as follows:

Pauline Cimaszewski 695 Alena J. Berenblatt 859 Dominick Montalto 915 John Savoca 659 Roger A. Katz 786 Gregory Antolini 935

Be it further resolved that the following members are declared elected to the Board of Education:

Roger A. Katz for the unexpired term ending June 30, 2012.

Gregory Antolini, Dominick Montalto, Alena J. Berenblatt for the three 3-year terms beginning July 1, 2011 and ending June 30, 2014. On motion by Mrs. McKeown, seconded by Mr. Bencivenga, Resolution 2 was approved. (5-0)

#### ADJOURNMENT

At 9:34 p.m. there being no other items for discussion, the meeting was adjourned on motion by Mr. Bencivenga, seconded by Mrs. McKeown and approved. (5-0)